skip to Main Content

PSHB is one of the top priorities at Hortgro given the serious impact it could have on the future viability of the pome and stone industries. A PSHB Focus Group was formed and meets regularly to monitor development and agree on industry priorities in mitigating the risk.

Monitoring is essential for limiting the spread and management of PSHB. Producers are encouraged to regularly physically monitor their trees.

PSHB will most likely be found in ornamental trees first prior to orchard infestation.

1. Identify highly susceptible host trees

2. Visually inspect the trees at two-week intervals for possible infestation.

3. If infestation is suspected report here.


*not yet available for farm producers.

A total of 300 PSHB traps were placed in six major deciduous fruit production regions over the past three months. Another 200 – 300 traps will be placed in regions not yet covered. There are approximately 50 traps per area. FruitFly Africa and others are servicing the traps.

The pheromones needed for the traps are produced by a single Canadian company and currently only has an experimental registration in South Africa. Hortgro is working on fast-tracking the registration of the lure. This will enable more commercial companies to supply the lure in future when a higher level of monitoring might be needed.

Hortgro is monitoring PSHB in all the major production regions in the Western and Eastern Cape provinces.

  • Stellenbosch
  • Berg river valley (Franschhoek, Simondium, Paarl and Wellington)
  • Warm and Koue Bokkeveld
  • Wolseley
  • EGVV (Elgin, Grabouw, Villiersdorp and Vyeboom)
  • Langkloof
  • Klein Karoo
  • Breede river valley (Worcester, Roberston, Ashton, Bonnievale)
  • Piketberg


Indication distribution and PSHB monitoring

13 Generic PSHB Distribution

16 Generic Traps where PSHB is present

20 Generic Traps where PSHB is not present

PSHB distribution in South Africa

EASTERN CAPE: Kaukamma (Storms River; Tsitsikamma Falls); Makana (Makhanda – Grahamstown); Ndlambe (Port Alfred); Buffalo City (East London)
Mangaung (Bloemfontein)
GAUTENG: Ekurhuleni (Bedfordview); City of Johannesburg (Region A: Lanseria, Midrand; Region B: Craighall Park, Hurlingham, Randburg; Region C: Roodepoort; Region D: Soweto); Tshwane (Daspoort, Rietondale Park)
eThekwini (Buffelsdraai, Durban, Durban North, Gillets, Kloof, Scottburgh, Umhlanga); KwaDukuza (New Guelderland, Shaka’s Rock); Msunduzi (Pietermaritzburg); Umdoni (Pennington); uMhlathuze (Felixton); Ray Nkonyeni (Umzumbi)
LIMPOPO: No confirmed reports to date.
MPUMALANGA: Mbombela (Nelspruit)
NORTHERN CAPE: Frances Baard (Jan Kempdorp) NORTHWEST: Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati (Greater Taung); Matlosana (Hartbeesfontein)
WESTERN CAPE: Bitou (Greater Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville Forest); George (George, Wilderness); Knysna (Knysna, Sedgefield); City of Cape Town (Somerset West, Newlands, Claremont, along the Liesbeeck River) and Stellenbosch.

Back To Top